The Poughkeepsie Tapes

TPT

Savage, harrowing and actually very difficult to watch, The Poughkeepsie Tapes is a faux documentary detailing the Water Street Killer and his early Nineties to early Naughties, audio-visual killing spree. This movie is told in the same manner as low brow TV shows such as America’s Most Wanted or Deadly Women, resulting in a visceral and relatable format that is grounded in popular culture. Vox pop interviews with supposed victims, families, doctors, police officers and members of the public tie the scenes of murder together, and the analog visuals enhance the grittiness of what is playing on screen.

In The Poughkeepsie Tapes, the Water Street Killer is a serial murderer that documented his killings on a personal video recorder. The police discover over 2000 tapes, many of which contain graphic imagery of murder, torture and brutality, with some of the worst being shown to us later in the movie. Part of the reason why it becomes so challenging a watch is how each crime, much like in a crime documentary, is alluded to before being ‘reconstructed’. The problem here is that these aren’t reconstructions; these crimes are ‘real’ (despite being fiction), which puts you in the scene, and not as a voyeur but as a witness.

The acting is top drawer in some cases, especially the actress that plays Cheryl Dempsey, the missing girl in the narrative. She delivers a haunting performance throughout, especially towards the end of the runtime. The twists in the final act denied a Hollywood ending and was perfectly executed, and the ending itself enhances the hollowness I felt at the end of the movie.

To say I enjoyed this film would be wrong; I definitely endured it. But as a horror movie, The Poughkeepsie Tapes was adventurous, original and did its job of chilling me enough to make me get out of bed to ensure my front door was double-locked.

Categories: General Reviews

7 replies

  1. I’ve always wanted to check this one out. I’m a huge horror buff, but wasn’t sure what to expect from this. I may have to finally give it a watch. But seriously, on a scale of 1-10, how brutal was it? Great write-up by the way πŸ™‚

    • Thanks buddy! It’s on YouTube (240p….) if you fancy it? Honestly, I haven’t seen the August Underground movies but I know about their brutality being a 10/10. I’d probably put this as 7/10 for physical brutality, but the psychological brutality is a 10/10 for sure, averaging out at an 8.5 overall. It’s fucking arduous but excellent!

      • August Underground is a fucking disgrace to cinema. Honestly, I love gore and depravity as much as the next guy, but I need context and a plot, substance. I don’t know, that’s just how I feel. I really enjoy films that are difficult to watch, it means its doing its job LOL. Again, great review and I will watch TPT and get back to you :).

  2. I remember seeing a trailer for this a couple of years ago. And it was so deeply unsettling! I never saw the movie because I don’t think I could hack it, but the trailer stuck with me for a long time after. You’re a brave soul.

  3. I’ve always wanted to see this but every time I think about it, I can’t find it….. sounds good!!

What do you think?

Craft Fear

Handmade horror with a side of suds.

The Obsessive Viewer

Blog & Podcasts featuring movie/TV reviews and editorials about the entertainment industry.

The Popcorn Bandit

Salted popcorn, shaken not stirred | Just an average guy reviewing films for the average Joe.

Sunset Boulevard

Writings of a Cinephile

The Motion Pictures

Lindsey D.'s ramblings on the moving image!

Modest Movie

Opinions from the back of the theater

Critical Dave

Where I pontificate on things (mainly movies) and you read if you want to. Spoilers are everywhere, so read at your own peril.

1001 Movies...Before I Die!

Read what I write about what I see!

