140 words; Nightmare on Elm Street (2012)

A Nightmare on Elm Street

“If you die in your dreams, you die for real”. Please, get these kids some Valium.

Another year, another remake. This time it’s the 80s classic, Nightmare on Elm Street; the original, a film about rich, suburban families living in a class bubble. However, any allegory here is lost.

Instead we get the Saw-esque, green-tinted, post-industrial griminess. A slasher movie trope is leering at the female form, however this just takes it to new, lurid levels. It’s horrible and valueless.

The movie is just lazy jump scare after lazy jump scare. We are thrown in the deep end without any character development, and nothing happens throughout. Kids get killed, and by the end I wanted everyone to die, even the ‘final girl’.

Nightmare on Elm Street has extremely high production values, yet it has absolutely zero cinematic value. Avoid.

Categories: General Reviews

Tags: , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Nice!

    This didn’t bother me very much but I’ve never been a big fan of the series in general…. plus, it had Clancy Brown who is one of my favorites : )

  2. Horrible, useless, pointless, remake. Let’s face it, Englund is the face of Freddie Kruger, now and forever – just like Pinnick is the face of Pinhead in Hellraiser. You can’t get another actor to play the part and convince horror fans. It seems Hollywood is taking many supernatural style films and forcing a slasher style filmmaking over them. It doesn’t work – you need mood, suspense, atmosphere, multi level plots, depth, etc.

    • I think slasher movies, or a lot of the tropes in them, are done. We have moved on a lot from patriarchal conservatism, so it’s not relevant anymore. This movie was just killing teenagers with no social commentary, which I’m not pinning for as such, but that’s literally all it is, which to me is pointless.

  3. the original was probably good for a remake, even though it was exceptional already. perhaps this shouldn’t be the way, but I watched all the Freddies growing up. They made me the well rounded person I am today 😉 This remake I never watched, it looks garbage – shame really because there is a lot of creative scope in dreamscapes.

    • Haha, I actually had a recurring nightmare when I was about 3-5yo that had Freddy in it. I can tell you exactly what happened to this day, but have turned out alright!

      Anyway, this remake, as I said, holds no merit for me at all. I’m not a remake hater, because if you do something new and exciting then awesome, but this is just terrible.

What do you think?

Craft Fear

Handmade horror with a side of suds.

The Obsessive Viewer

Blog & Podcasts featuring movie/TV reviews and editorials about the entertainment industry.

The Popcorn Bandit

Salted popcorn, shaken not stirred | Just an average guy reviewing films for the average Joe.

Sunset Boulevard

Writings of a Cinephile

The Motion Pictures

Lindsey D.'s ramblings on the moving image!

Modest Movie

Opinions from the back of the theater

Critical Dave

Where I pontificate on things (mainly movies) and you read if you want to. Spoilers are everywhere, so read at your own peril.

1001 Movies...Before I Die!

Read what I write about what I see!

